Our Final App is Finished!

We ended up working until the very last minute to add some extra features to our app so I actually forgot to do last week’s blog post. I will do one more for this class and then I will use this blog to report on any of my new classes that require a blog, which start April 20th

Tying Up Loose Ends

My small contribution was done last week, so I was really glad for the opportunity to get the code up and running after both teammates added their work several times. I was able to come up with lines of code to help them get passed a place they were stumped on as well. One design team member worked after I submitted our ‘finished’ app to conform with his wishes. He ended up adding new features, which work, so that’s that. It’s done.

Our App

It’s not pretty, but it’s functional. You signup, login, it flips over and shows seven bars with the name of the days of the week on them and two buttons at the bottom for help and to reset the form. You click a day and it opens up to show three input fields for Name, Time, and Location. It’s a really basic program. The point of the course was that we experience what it is like to develop an application in the real world. The weeks of research, learning new types of code and technologies, planning, design and finally the excitement of getting down to work, feeling not good enough, overcoming fears, and the triumph of getting the code to work all mixed together in a massive sprint. It’s a neat experience.

Conclusions

We could of done a lot better on the file structure. The reason things got lost is one teammate’s bad habits. They created a new file for each version, fine, but it wasn’t the teams current version, just theirs. Things were lost as I tried to merge the files together by hand. Another thing was that all the CSS, JS and HTML were mostly in one huge file. This made it hard to spot changes. It also made it hard to follow the code at times, but it was a learning experience. I think we can expect good things from these two. There are a few bad habits they need to learn how to conquer, but they will. I hope to stay in contact. Good kids.

Leave a comment