BYU-Idaho Web Business Blog featured image

Ads and Ad Groups

This week we worked on our ad text and ad groups on our Adwords accounts.

Ad Groups

I decided to break my keywords into four ad groups. The campaign settings apply to all four groups and now I can create a new ad for each of the strongest keywords and those keywords that relate to them the closests.

Ad Text

I revised my ad text by adding a keyword as the headline for each of my four groups. The first description line is the same on each ad. It describes the type of blog I am writing. That way it drives away traffic of people who are not looking for an art blog. The second description line is different from the first ad, with the last three all being the same. I did not use a call to action. I felt that people who are interested in what I am blogging about will be sold on what I already wrote.

Conclusion

This was a nice lesson to learn. I see how ad campaigns with ad groups work to my advantage. I now have a top pay-per-click set by Adwords for me of $.01. Yep 1 cent. I know that means I am in a low competition area, but I hope to get some traffic anyway.

Leave a comment